The Consortium for Language Teaching and Learning is an association of five institutions of higher education (the University of Chicago, Columbia University, Cornell University, Brown University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Princeton University and Yale University) established in 1986 and dedicated to the study and instruction of second languages at the post-secondary level. Comments and inquiries on our projects and activities are welcome.